Carr receives Special Award from Yachting Journalists Association

The RYA’s CEO, Rod Carr OBE, was presented with a ‘Special Award’ by the YJA (Yachting Journalists’ Association) at the Yachtsman of the Year luncheon today (Tuesday 12 Jan) at Trinity House, London.

In recognition of his contribution to sailing and boating

In recognition of his contribution to sailing and boating

Carr was selected to receive the award, which is presented from time to time by the YJA, for his contribution to sailing and boating during his lifetime.

June Hamilton, Chairman of the YJA said: “Rod has made a huge contribution to our sport over the years and has been a great inspiration to a generation of sailors. With this in mind we wanted to present him with this special award in recognition of his achievements.”

Presented with a specially engraved presentation box housing a pair of stunning binoculars, which will come in useful for his sailing travels when he retires in March this year, Rod said of his award: “I am very humbled to receive this award from the YJA. Throughout my career I have been lucky enough to work in an industry that I love and to receive an award for doing what is a true passion of mine is simply icing on the cake.”

Rod joins a list of distinguished past recipients:

* 1995 – Jim Saltonstall, RYA National Racing Coach
* 1994 – George Johns, official photographer on board ‘Enza’, and Tim Severin, the celebrated marine adventurer
* 1993 – Chay Blyth, for services to yachting, and Michael Calvin, for services to yachting journalism
* 1992 – David Thomas, designer of many successful offshore racing classes
* 1990 – Major Peter Snowden for services to yachting on his retirement after 18 years as secretary to Cowes Combined Clubs
* 1988 – Bill Anderson – for services to yachting as RYA Training Manager
* 1985 – Bernard Hayman for services to yachting
* 1984 – Michael Richey for services to ocean racing and small craft navigation